Meet Our Makers: Lisa Patterson-Kane

Our ‘Meet Our Maker’ series celebrates the people behind the scenes of Walcha Handmade, and encourages an understanding of the care and attention to detail that goes into the handmade products we carry.

This month we meet Lisa Patterson-Kane – busy mum, and the driving force behind ‘Four Flamingos’.

lisa-patterson-kane

Tell us a little about yourself and what you do.

I am a wife, mother of two busy young girls, a Clinical Psychologist by day and a crafter by night.

I love playing with new ideas and designs, and always have about 10 things on my ‘to do’ list. I am all self-taught, and love seeing something and giving it a try. It doesn’t matter if it is a success or not (although I do prefer it to be a success); the creation phase is the part that I enjoy the most.

Currently I am doing some sewing: kid’s pajamas, girl’s skirts and dresses, and baby suits. I’ve only just ordered some very bright Indian cotton fabric to make some women’s pajama sets, which I am very excited about. I also dabble in a little bit of upholstery – up-cycling office chairs – but overall my favourite thing to do is jewellery design.

blue-silicone-necklace

Where did your business name come from?

My business is called ‘Four Flamingos’.  I have always thought flamingos are pretty cool birds – they seem so brightly coloured and elegant – and there are 4 in my family, so hence ‘Four Flamingos’.

What materials do you use?

I am currently using predominantly silicone in my jewellery, as it is such a versatile material. I get my beads and bangles made in medical grade silicone, so it can be used for teething babies. It can also be put through the dishwasher if it gets dirty, and is light and easy to wear. I am able to get the beads made in colours that I specify, so I can go as bright as I want!! In terms of fabrics, I like everything that is bright and colourful!

baby-chewing-on-silicone-necklace

What is your creative space like? What kinds of things happen there?

I don’t have a designated space; things are pretty busy so my creative stuff happens when the opportunity arises. My sewing machine lives under the office desk, and when I can get a bit of spare time I whip it out and get sewing. My jewellery creation happens predominantly in the living area of our house, always with little people very willing to ‘help’.

covered-office-chair

Where can we find more of your pretty things?

You can find a lot of necklaces and bangles at the Four Flamingos Facebook page – www.facebook.com/FourFlamingos.

Thanks for sharing a little bit about yourself with us Lisa!

