Meet Our Makers: Amber Macpherson

Our ‘Meet Our Maker’ series celebrates the people behind the scenes of Walcha Handmade, and encourages an understanding of the care and attention to detail that goes into the handmade products we carry.

This month we meet Amber – our youngest member and keen maker of delicious jams, spreads and sauces.

amber

Tell us a little about yourself and what you do?

Hi, I am Amber Macpherson. I am 10 years old and am in Year 6. I my spare time from school I like to cook cakes and make preserves. I also really love IT (information technology), so I like to play around on my computer and learn new things.

What materials do you use?

With Mums help, I grow veges and fruit in my own gardens. Because I grow things in my garden I normally have heaps of one thing, so I find something to make with them.  Most commonly I have heaps of tomatoes so I have made Tomato Sauce.

amber-at-work

What are you currently working on?

I am currently working on some preserves and dipping sauces eg. lemon butter. I like making jam in summer.  Some of Dad’s bus drivers bring me mulberries, figs, blackberries and other fruit that I can use for the jam.
I am also looking for some new things to make, so if anyone has any favourites, please let me know as I may try to make it.

Who would you most like to sit next to at a dinner party?

Ever since I was little I have loved watching Maggie Beer on the show “The Cook and the Chef”, and for the last year I have been watching the show “Gourmet Farmer” with Matthew Evans.
I really like learning how food used to be made before big factories came around.
One of my favourite episodes was when he killed a pig and soaked it in hot water baths. He made everything you could make out of it – there were no left over bits. Some of the things he made were blood pudding, hams, terrines and salamis. I would love to talk to them about what techniques they use and to get some ideas for my cooking.

ambers-products

How do you like to spend your time when you are not creating?

On the weekends I like to go swimming, horse riding, water skiing, gardening and playing on my computer.
I really like it when we go to Copeton Dam camping and playing on our jet ski.

Thank you for sharing with us Amber, and we look forward to seeing what new recipes you have for us in 2015.

2 thoughts on “Meet Our Makers: Amber Macpherson

Comments are closed.