Meet Our Makers: Sonya Gibson

Our ‘Meet Our Maker’ series celebrates the people behind the scenes of Walcha Handmade, and encourages an understanding of the care and attention to detail that goes into the handmade products we carry.

sg-1

This month we meet Sonya Gibson, one of our talented ladies who works with wool to create wonderful pieces of wearable and playable art.

What are you currently working on?

I am currently working on some crochet blankets, beanies and scarves ready for winter.

sonya-gibson-crocheted-fire-truck

Where do you live and work?

I currently live 15 kilometres from Walcha, on a little property with my Husband and two children. I am a fulltime stay-at-home mum, and do one day a month at Walcha Handmade which I enjoy.

What materials do you use?

I love working with cotton and make most of my crochet kids toys from it.  I’ve also been using some wool from Bendigo Woolen Mill.  I especially love their Alpaca wool, from which I have created some lovely cushion covers and scarves.

sonya-gibson-crochet-toys

sonya-gibson-crochet-headbands

What is your creative space like? What kinds of things happen there?

My current work space is just in the lounge room, as I don’t have anywhere else in the house.  This is good because I love to watch tv while I create and I do lots of creating here.  It’s also a great space where we spend most of our time as a family.

sonya-gibson-crocheted-caterpillar

Tell us about yourself and your background leading to your handmade endeavours.

I grew up in Uralla and always had a passion for knitting.  I did not know how to crochet though, so after having our daughter Charlotte I taught myself to crochet, but never thought I was any good.

After I had made a few baby blankets for gifts I started to feel more confident, so started to crochet little toys and whatever I thought other people would like and buy.
I really don’t know how I find the time with a 5 year old and 2 year old, but I really enjoy it and hope others keep enjoying my work.

Thank you for sharing with us Sonya!  We look forward to seeing more of your work as the cooler weather approaches.

