Meet Our Makers: Megan Scrivener

Our ‘Meet Our Maker’ series celebrates the people behind the scenes of Walcha Handmade, and encourages an understanding of the care and attention to detail that goes into the handmade products we carry.

megan-scrivener

This month we meet Megan – one of the founding forces behind the beginnings of Walcha Handmade.

A mum to 3 and graphic designer with a love of making and all things art, she shares a few of the things that make her tick.

Tell us about yourself and your background leading to your handmade endeavours.
I spent the first 26 years of my life in Newcastle until I married and moved to the ‘country’ in the late 90’s. I have been a graphic designer for 28 years, working for a Newcastle agency until 2001, and running my own business since. I have always loved art and making things, and in my teens I loved to draw. Art was definitely my favourite subject at school.

I love designing, making things, and also enjoy dabbling in photography.

 

Define your style:
Simple and graphic … I love squares!

What are you currently working on?
I have a few projects on the go at the moment, but with Mitch and Em home for the school holidays making things has been put on the backburner. I also have lots of ideas for new items … but like most of us I just need to find the time to get them underway!

megan-graphic-design

What is your creative space like? What kinds of things happen there?
For my ‘work’ I have a great office in the back garden, but when I making things I am usually inside in the lounge room. Alan made a fantastic, long, rosewood table when we were first married and it’s great to work on. I have a little stash of things in the lounge room and a large stash of boxes in my bedroom … I have a bad habit of collecting more material than I actually need (and use)!

What materials do you use?
For my Walcha Handmade items, I mostly work with cotton fabric and felt, but I would love to start using materials like clay and wood to make some different items. For my graphic creations, I use my Mac and Adobe Creative Cloud software.

cloth-little-girl-dolls

megans-rabbit-toys

What are you listening to?
For the past few weeks James Bay, Boy & Bear and Ed Sheeran, but I love all kinds music … and it’s got to be played loud (most of the time)!

How do you like to spend your downtime when you are not creating?
I love sitting down, putting on one of my favourite TV shows … and having a cuppa.

Where would be your favourite destination?
Anywhere in Europe would be wonderful, but I would also love to go back to America to visit a friend who I haven’t seen in 20 years!!

megans-quilt

Thanks for sharing with us Megan! Hope you have the opportunity to play with clay and wood soon.

2 thoughts on “Meet Our Makers: Megan Scrivener

Comments are closed.