Meet Our Makers: Cathy Lisle

Our ‘Meet Our Maker’ series celebrates the people behind the scenes of Walcha Handmade, and encourages an understanding of the care and attention to detail that goes into the handmade products we carry.

cathy-lisle-the-walcha-kitchenThis month we meet Cathy Lisle – one of our Walcha celebs!

Cathy kindly lets us take a peek at her kitchen this month and shared a little bit about herself.

Tell us a little about yourself and what you do.
When you live on a rural property I think you become a ‘jack of all trades’ and I think that describes me quite well. I am a wife, mother, grandmother, Physiotherapist (still working 20 hrs per week at the hospital), a cook and run my own business –  The Walcha Kitchen – with my daughter Anna, as well as ‘doing the books’ for my husband. My life is very full at the moment. I need more hours in the day.

cathy-cutting-apples

What is your creative space like? What kinds of things happen there?
Our kitchen is the heart of the house – I could spend the entire day in the kitchen cooking, eating and creating delicious treats to eat.
I have always cooked and started cooking at a very early age. My mum is a great cook and at the age of 83 she will still ring me and say “I’ve just tried a new recipe.”, so I suppose it is in the family. I started teaching my children to cook from about the age of two or three. Back then, it was mainly licking the spoons but they all got the bug. Hugh was definitely the sauce man and Sam can whip up a meal, but Anna experiments all the time and is now teaching me things and is always getting me to do new things. And now I am teaching my grandchildren to cook.

I get so much pleasure making a meal that everyone loves, even if it takes hours to prepare and minutes to devour.

For me, food is an expression of my love for my family.

If I see an ingredient or product that I have never cooked with before then I just have to buy it and experiment with it. I recently bought a fresh goose and it was amazing.

netherton-cathy-lisle

How do you like to spend your downtime when you are not creating?
If I am not in the kitchen then I love to spend time in the garden. It is so rewarding to see things growing. I love being outside and I can escape in my garden. It is one place where I find my mind is free and I can potter for hours. I love fresh flowers in the house and I can always find something to pick and put in a vase.
I love sewing too and recently made a lace dress which I was very happy with, although with all the cooking I am doing and with our cooking classes I find I am not doing as much sewing as I would like. I really enjoy tennis and hiking as well. There just isn’t enough time in the day to do all the things I would like to do.

the-walcha-kitchen-products

What is the one piece of advice you wish someone had shared with you when you were younger?
Don’t get to the end of your life and have any regrets. If you really want to do something then give it a go. It may not work out but at least you have tried. On the other hand, it may be the best thing you ever did!

You can find The Walcha Kitchen online here.
If you can’t make it into Walcha Handmade, you can purchase our muesli and granola here, or find out about our upcoming cooking classes in the 2015 class calendar.

Thanks Cathy!

