Meet Our Makers: Sam Bayley

Our ‘Meet Our Maker’ series celebrates the people behind the scenes of Walcha Handmade, and encourages an understanding of the care and attention to detail that goes into the handmade products we carry.

This month we meet Sam Bayley – mum, maker and science teacher – as she shares with us a little bit about her creative side.

sam-bayley-3.jpg

Tell us about yourself and your background leading to your handmade endeavours.

I am a science teacher in my real life and have always loved making things. My grandma taught me to embroider at a young age and I had an amazing friend when I was young and we were always creating together. Over time, I have tried lots of different crafts but now I have a young daughter I appreciate crafts that can be completed quickly and in one sitting.

sam-bayley-sewing-machine

Tell us a little about your home & family life.

I live in town and have a husband – who is very helpful in his use of woodwork tools, and a 2-year-old daughter. We have a large dog called Wally who many people around town know and recognize and a loveable cat.What is your creative space like? What kinds of things happen there?

What is your creative space like? What kinds of things happen there?

I have a sewing room on the eastern side of our house that captures the morning sun. I love “playing” in here and trying new things. I also have a TV so usually have an old movie or TV show playing for company.

sam-bayley-4

sam-bayley-5.jpg

What materials do you use?

Mainly fabric but have recently been trying some new ideas with other media and I am always willing to experiment

What are you currently working on?

I always have numerous projects on the go – mainly using my holiday time to find items to finish!

sam-bayley-7

Thanks, Sam, for sharing!

